Scholarships 2021-2022

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020 – Study from Home Country!

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for commonwealth countries

Scholarships for individuals to study for a UK Master’s degree while residing in
their home country.

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is one of the largest and most
prestigious scholarship schemes for international study in the world. Since it was established
in 1959, around 35,000 individuals have benefited – 27,000 of them have held awards
funded by the UK government, managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in
the United Kingdom (CSC).

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are offered for citizens of certain developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), with the aim of contributing to the UK’s international development aims and wider overseas interests, supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

To contribute to the development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals in key development areas.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020


A Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship covers tuition fees and study grants

High-quality postgraduate students who wish to access training not available in their home countries, who wish or need to remain in their home country while they study, and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire. Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support courses offered in partnership with local providers in developing countries, as well as courses delivered directly by UK universities.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships offers 6 (Master’s) Courses

  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security, and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion, and opportunity

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020


The university is responsible for ensuring its candidates meet the CSC’s eligibility criteria. To
apply for these scholarships, candidates must:
• Be a citizen of, or be granted refugee status in, an eligible developing Commonwealth
country (see overleaf), or be a British Protected Person;
• Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (see overleaf);
• Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and
sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.
Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships may not be held concurrently for more than
one course.
If selected for a scholarship, candidates must be resident and remain in an eligible developing
Commonwealth country and must not undertake study towards any other qualification for the
duration of their award.

Eligible Commonwealth 2020 countries

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia

How to apply for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2020

You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system (Link Below). The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system. You must also secure admission to an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Distance Learning scheme. See the list of participating universities and eligible courses.

Please check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying. You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Distance Learning Scholarship.

All applications must be submitted by the first deadline of midday 16.00 (GMT) on 13 April 2020.

Your application must include the following supporting documentation by the second deadline of 16:00 (GMT) on 4 May 2020 in order for your application to be eligible for consideration:

  • Proof of citizenship or refugee status – uploaded to the online application system
  • At least one reference– submitted directly by the referee to the online application system
    (referees will be sent an email request)
  • An offer letter to start their chosen course of study in the 2020-2021 academic year –
    uploaded to the online application system
  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if
    not in English) – uploaded to the online application system

The CSC will not accept supporting documentation submitted outside the online application system.

Supporting documentation uploaded to the online application system must be uploaded as files that are no more than 5 MB in size and must be in one of the following formats: PDF, .doc, .docx, .odt, .jpg, .jpeg. Files submitted in any other format (including Zip files and PDF Portfolios) will NOT be accepted.

Applicants are responsible for seeking permission from their referees in advance of submitting
their application; for ensuring that their referees are available to complete the reference by the
deadline and have received the reference request email from the online application system.

Click Here to Apply Commonwealth Distance Learning (Masters) Scholarships 2020

Visit the Official Website of Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *