Scholarships 2021-2022

Fellowship in the Arts and Humanities by Dianne Woest International

Prizes and Fellowships

The Kemper and Leila Williams Prize in Louisiana History, offered annually by The Historic New Orleans Collection and the Louisiana Historical Association since 1974, recognizes excellence in research and writing on Louisiana. The prize, which includes a cash award of $1,500 and a plaque, is presented each March at the LHA’s annual meeting.

The Dianne Woest Fellowship in the Arts and Humanities supports scholarly research on the history and culture of Louisiana and the Gulf South. While THNOC resources should play a central role in the proposed research agenda, fellows are also encouraged to explore other research facilities in the Greater New Orleans area.

The Woest Fellowship is open to doctoral candidates, academic and museum professionals, and independent scholars. U.S. citizenship is not required, but applicants should be fluent in English.  Fellows will be expected to acknowledge THNOC in any published work drawing on fellowship research. Applicants are considered without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, gender, age, disability, or any other protected status.


The fellowship includes a stipend of $4,000. Fellows may select their period(s) of residence, but all research must commence and conclude during the specified fellowship term (April 1, 2020–March 31, 2021).


Applications for the 2020–21 Woest Fellowship are due November 15, 2019. Recipients will be announced February 1, 2020.

To Apply:

Applicants are encouraged to familiarize themselves with THNOC’s resources by visiting the Research page and browsing our holdings via our online public access catalog. Fellowship applications may be downloaded from the website. For more information, consult our FAQ, or contact Jason Wiese at (504) 598-7183.

The Historic New Orleans Collection gratefully acknowledges the generosity of Dianne Audrey Woest (1935–2003), a graduate of Southeastern Louisiana University, former president of the New Orleans Council for International Visitors, and true friend of the arts. Through a planned giving arrangement, Woest designated The Collection as a beneficiary of her estate.

THNOC congratulates the 2019–20 class of Woest Fellows, whose projects reflect the breadth of our institutional holdings and sustain the tradition of scholarly merit established by previous fellowship recipients.

  • Dr. Ella Howard (Associate Professor of History, Wentworth Institute of Technology, Boston), “Neighborhoods, Buildings, and the Historic Preservation Movement in America”
  • Dr. Walter Stern (Assistant Professor, Educational Policy Studies and History, University of Wisconsin,  Madison), “Education for Imprisonment: School Desegregation and the Roots of Mass Incarceration in the World’s Prison Capital”
  • Mr. Alexander Cors (PhD candidate, History, Emory University, Atlanta), “Belonging in the Borderlands: Anglo-American Newcomers and the Making of ‘Undesirable Immigrants’ in Spanish Louisiana, 1783–1803”




Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *